A Breakdown of Kate Middleton’s Royal Titles Through the Years

A Breakdown of Kate Middleton’s Royal Titles Through the Years

Since Kate Middleton – now Catherine, Princess of Wales – married into the British royal family in 2011, she has assumed a handful (and sometimes a sip) of official royal titles, representing her senior royal duties across the Commonwealth. And the list keeps getting longer.

This year, Kate received a whole host of new titles with the death of Queen Elizabeth II, as the monarch’s death spurred a major shift in the British line of succession. And just this December, the princess took on a title once owned by husband Prince William, marking her first-ever appointed role in the British Army.

Below is a full breakdown of every official title the Princess of Wales has held throughout her years in the British royal family.

Princess of Wales

Following the death of Queen Elizabeth on September 8, Kate graduated from Duchess to Princess and was named the new Princess of Wales alongside William, who is now Prince of Wales. Kate inherited the title from her late mother-in-law, Princess Diana, who was married to Prince Charles – now King Charles III – from 1981 to 1996.

While Kate is colloquially referred to as Princess Catherine or Princess Kate, her correct royal name is actually Catherine, Princess of Wales. Like Princess Diana (who was technically Diana, Princess of Wales), Kate was not born into the British royal family, so her first name had to be followed by her princess title and not preceded (lest it be replaced by the first name of her royal-born spouse) , per peerage.

Kate’s princess role comes in rank just below Queen Consort, which she is likely to inherit from Camilla Parker-Bowles (now Camilla, Queen Consort) when William takes the throne.

Duchess of Cambridge

After marrying Prince William in 2011, Kate was officially made Her Royal Highness The Duchess of Cambridge. It was her first and longest-serving role. Today she retains the title of Duchess of Cambridge despite her rise to the ranks of Princess of Wales.

Duchess of Cornwall

Kate inherited another duchess title from Camilla – now Her Royal Highness The Princess Consort – following the death of Queen Elizabeth and the subsequent accession of King Charles. Like “Wales”, the name “Cornwall” is a direct line courtesy title for king and queen.

Kate retained her old and new titles as Duchess – and was officially known as the Duchess of Cornwall and Cambridge – for a single day on September 8th, marking the brief interval between the death of Queen Elizabeth and the confirmation of Charles as the new King of the United Kingdom marked.

Colonel in the Irish Guards

Kate’s recent title marks her first honorary appointment in the British Army with the Irish Guards Regiment. She inherited the title in December 2022 from Prince William, who has since been made the new Colonel in the Welsh Guards. The princess is the first woman and second royal person behind William to assume the military honors role.

Patron of Rugby

By order of Queen Elizabeth, Kate was appointed Royal Patron of Rugby Football Union and Rugby Football League in February 2022 – a position Prince Harry held prior to his retirement from senior royal duties in 2020.

Since then, the Princess has visited Twickenham Stadium and met with England’s men’s and women’s teams at training and practice sessions for the Six Nations Championships. According to a Kensington Palace press release, the role is closely aligned with her “longstanding passion for the sport and the lifelong benefits it can offer, both within our communities and on an individual level.”

Duchess of Rothesay and Countess of Chester

Kate’s regional princess titles in Scotland are Duchess of Rothesay and Countess of Chester – both linked solely to the heir apparent and inherited by Camilla – in accordance with the nation’s long-standing system of nobility. As in England, Kate can still be considered the Duchess of Cornwall in Scotland.

Before becoming a princess, Kate was known in Scotland as the Countess of Strathearn.

Countess of Carrick and Baroness of Renfrew

Kate’s regional titles in Northern Ireland are Countess of Carrick and Baroness of Renfrew. While still only a duchess, she was known as Lady Carrickfergus in the British sovereign nation.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *