Shootout heaven and hell for Willie Clemons and Kole Hall – The Royal Gazette

Shootout heaven and hell for Willie Clemons and Kole Hall – The Royal Gazette

Updated: December 22, 2022 3:55 p.m

Willie Clemons’ Braintree Town advanced to fourth round of Isuzu FA Trophy (stock image)

Bermuda teammates Willie Clemons and Kole Hall endured mixed fortunes in Round 3 of the Isuzu FA Trophy this week.

Clemons and his Braintree Town team-mates defeated Farnborough FC 5-4 on penalties in a tight cup game, with the striker converting a penalty in the shoot-out.

However, Hall’s Chester were eliminated from the competition after losing to Vanarama National League North rivals Farsley Celtic 5–4 on penalties, with the Bermuda striker leveling late to send the tie into overtime .

Midfielder Clemons and his team-mates got off to a perfect start at Easy As HGV Stadium when Kyran Clement put them ahead in the 20th minute.

The hosts continued to press and were eventually rewarded by Freddie Grant’s equalizer thirteen minutes from time to set up a wild finish.

Jack Cawley restored Town’s lead with two minutes remaining, but Farnborough’s Reggie Young leveled the teams again in the 90th minute, sending the game into extra time and eventually penalties.

Clemons and his team-mates now meet National League side Eastleigh in the next round on January 14 at The Silverlake Stadium.

Elsewhere, Hall and his teammates were left to watch the game at The Citadel after Jimmy Spencer put the hosts ahead in the 40th minute.

Chester finally struck back in the 68th minute through Matty Williams’ equalizer to keep the cup game level before Frank Mulhern restored the hosts’ lead in the 72nd minute.

Hall, who came on as a substitute in the 65th minute, netted a late equalizer in the 87th to drag the fight into injury time and keep his team on the hunt.

However, the striker’s fortunes took a turn for the worse when he was thwarted on the 12th penalty shoot-out from 12 meters out, sealing the hosts’ hard-fought victory.

The FA Trophy is open to all non-football league clubs in England that register professional players.

The competition began in 1969 when Macclesfield Town were crowned the first winners after beating Telford United 2-0 in the final at Wembley Stadium.

* Kenni Thompson scored the winner in Eibar’s 1-0 win over women’s Primera Federación rivals Cordoba.

North Village coach Kenny Thompson’s daughter converted the only goal of the game in the first half to help her team reclaim first place overall.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *