L.A. County Supervisor Lindsey Horvath joins Metro Board

L.A. County Supervisor Lindsey Horvath joins Metro Board

Newly elected Los Angeles County Supervisor Lindsey P. Horvath is the newest member of the Metro Board of Directors, representing the county’s Third Circuit. She replaces former Metro board member Sheila Kuehl, who has served on the board since 2014.

Supervisor Horvath was elected to the Board of Supervisors on November 8, 2022 and took office on December 5, 2022 after serving West Hollywood as a City Councilman and longest-serving mayor.

Supervisor Horvath made history as the youngest woman ever elected to the Board of Supervisors, and she has a long history of advocating for civil and social justice.

She has worked on a wide range of transportation and mobility issues, from her service as a traffic commissioner to promoting subway projects in the district. She initiated the West Hollywood Bicycle Task Force, which resulted in West Hollywood being named the “most walkable” city in the entire state.

In addition to her responsibilities as a Metro board member, Horvath will also serve as a committee member on Metro’s Construction Committee and Operations, Safety and Customer Experience Committees. The Construction Committee oversees the construction of Metro’s infrastructure projects, while the Operations, Safety and Customer Experience Committee oversees bus and rail operations, system security and customer experience improvement.

Horvath has also spearheaded policies to make West Hollywood an “age-friendly community” to better serve residents of all ages and created the first-ever West Hollywood Community Response Team to Domestic Violence.

“As Mayor of West Hollywood, Supervisor Horvath has consistently demonstrated her commitment to building a more walkable and traffic-friendly community,” said Stephanie Wiggins, Metro CEO. “I look forward to the opportunity to work closely with her to improve mobility for all Angelenos in the years to come.”

The 13-member board consists of the five Los Angeles County Supervisors, four members appointed by the Los Angeles County City Selection Committee and the Mayor of Los Angeles, and three members appointed by the Mayor of Los Angeles. The position of CEO rotates between the three groups. The director of District 7 of the California Department of Transportation (Caltrans) also serves on the board as a non-voting member.

For more information on Metro’s Board of Directors, please visit https://www.metro.net/about/board-administration/.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *